Fashion for Kids

image

When speaking of art…we speak about expressions..Every single child is born with a sense of art.

These expression varies from art, drawing, craft, cooking until music…

There are a lot of misconceptions floating around about art.

We adults sometines misjudge our own children .Since maybe we feel we can’t draw..or we are not interested at all in music and other kinds of art. ..then we also convinced everybody that our children can’t draw ,do art or play music either. So what’s the use in teaching them.

Well…To me…to posses talent in art is about trigerring the creativity within ourselves..Creativity and art don’t just pop up from nowhere. It has to be discovered..and needs lots of practice to keep the creativity alive..

Ever since the moment I vowed to myself to help children learn fashion…I was creating many kinds of workshop and classes and even interesting events for the kids and teens that are passionate to fashion.

image

Once we had a fashion design workshop in a small resto teaching kids to draw and learn fashion items…and I was astonished by the results….there are lot’s of talents undiscovered..those litle fingers really can draw !

image

image

image

image

On november 2011, we were invited by Miniapolis (Plaza Indonesia) -(a fun and special prayground for kids in the center of a Mall.) to arrange a fashion design competition for kids..so..For about 1 month, every weekend we gathered the kids to draw their fashion sketches.

image

Suprisingly...I discovered so many kids espescially girls are very passionate about fashion..These kids actually understand fashion and style! Isn’t that something!

image

image

image

image

A really inspiring moment for me..Because I finally found the reason to start a new chapter of my carier in the fashion world. I choose to be a mentor for these talented young kids and hopefuly this effort could help them find their way to pursue their fashion dream.

image

Dear readers,

Thank you for following our fashion diary up until this post…lot’s of stories I will share in my future posts..about my work as a fashion designer, a mom and also how @dreamdresscourse (a fashion design course for kids and teens located at the South of Jakarta Indonesia) started. So please stay tuned..and feel free to leave your comments so I can personally connect to you…Thank you..so..so much!

With Love,

Astrid Estrelita

2 thoughts on “Fashion for Kids

  1. Hi Astrid…
    Gw Heni… temen lagi di SMP Santa Maria Cirebon…
    Seneng banget bisa tau kabar lu lagi…
    Temen2 lagi cari2 kabar tentang elu… kita mau reunian… bisa tlg email ke gw enggak no wa elu?
    Thank you

    Like

Leave a comment